I adore the Superbowl even though I don’t get football.

I don’t even know what teams are playing today, but I’m so very excited for the Superbowl. I haven’t even really watched any football this year; I don’t even understand it really. I’ve had people try to explain the rules, and I think I get the gist, but all the small technical calls, and the frequent, long pauses in between plays, just really kind of kills it for me. Baseball is slow, but it’s a continuous kind of slow, a more relaxed vibe; football is angry, and you’re supposed to get amped up and crazy at the tailgate, before the game has even started. The whole tradition never really resonated with me, of drinking hours before and then enduring a four-hour game that feels like it takes an eternity to finish.

So why am I so excited for the biggest game in a sport I don’t really follow? Because today is the day that everyone else will be watching the Superbowl, and I can do whatever the hell I want. That means at least four hours of uninterrupted time where I can write, paint, cook, nap, or even watch the Superbowl if I feel like it. My husband and I were going to go to a friend’s for the game, but he decided last minute not to have a big thing. Another friend is having a game night while the game is on, but we had already said no because we thought we were going to the first gathering. We are essentially commitment free on a day when most people have set plans.

We decided to grab an obscene amount of food (because if there’s one thing I love about the Superbowl, it’s the emphasis on multiple dips), and we’re going to just work on whatever project we want while it’s on. So thank you Superbowl, for giving me this huge chunk of time. In a couple hours I will be sitting in a panda onesie, eating guacamole and cauliflower sriracha wings, while working on a dreamcatcher. And that is just super.

2 thoughts on “I adore the Superbowl even though I don’t get football.

Leave a Reply

